Blood of the Devil

Blood of the Devil is Book 2 of an imagined autobiography of the Mescalero Apache warrior and cavalry scout, Yellow Boy, who in 1950, at age ninety, tells the story of his life to his physician friend, Doctor Henry Grace. The autobiography parallels events in the Geronimo Wars and the history of the Mescalero Apaches between 1860 and 1950. Book 1, Killer of Witches, begins in 1865 when Yellow Boy is five years old and vanishes overnight with over 500 Mescaleros from Bosque Redondo near Fort Sumner, New Mexico in 1865. Book 2, Blood of the Devil, begins in 1880 in the Sierra Madre stronghold of the great Chiricahua chief, Juh, when Yellow Boy and his warrior brother, Beela-chezzi learn how to find the giant bald witch, who has escaped them, Sangre del Diablo (Blood of the Devil). They have sworn to kill and send him blind to the Happy Land for the murder and scalping of their people.

Blood of the Devil covers the years 1880 to 1896, and Yellow Boy tells of moving and hiding like the wind to pursue, face, and destroy Sangre del Diablo and his Comanches. Later in his life, Yellow Boy must also hunt and destroy a shape-shifter witch who can change into a cougar and who threatens Yellow Boy's girl child, Kicking Wren. During the years of Blood of the Devil, Yellow Boy becomes a tribal policeman under Captain Thomas Branigan, and an Army Scout under Al Sieber on General Crook's 1883 expedition into the Sierra Madre to help return Chiricahua Apaches like Geronimo, Chihuahua, and other legendary warriors and their women back to their camps on the San Carlos Reservation.

Yellow Boy comes to know the unbounded joy of fatherhood and the terrific grief of losing a child. He and his wife Juanita try for a long time to have another child, but are barren. Juanita asks Yellow Boy, to take her younger sister, Moon on the Water, as his second wife that they might have more children. Moon on the Water has recurring nightmares that haunt her unless she is in the Sierra Madre. To save Moon on the Water from being branded a witch, Yellow Boy takes her to live with Sierra Madre Apaches and lives alternate months with Moon in the Sierra Madre and then with Juanita on the reservation. Within a year Juanita has a second child, a son, Redondo, and three years later Moon on the Water expects her first child.

Returning to the reservation on a cold winter's day in 1896, Yellow Boy crosses the Organ Mountains. From high in Baylor Pass he sees a young white boy escape an ambush, a scene that Yellow Boy has seen in a dream. He knows he cannot let the boy freeze to death or be murdered like his father. Yellow Boy rides into the coming darkness to save the white child.



Endorsements for Blood of the Devil

Blood of the Devil continues the Mescalero Apache, Yellow Boy's, journey to fulfill his destiny as a killer of witches, wise hunter, brother, husband and father. The reader learns of the trials and resilience of the hold-out tribes following the Indian Wars of the Southwest. In W. Michael Farmer's rich description and nuanced details we experience a hypnotic journey. This saga of Yellow Boy shows his struggle for life and purpose where good and evil exists on both sides of the conflict. A lesson for everyone in today's emigrant society. The author's impressive list of novels shows him to be a passionate and knowledgeable scholar of the West. His storytelling is a delight.

Ann Schroeder
Author of Cholama Moon and Maria Inés
2015 president of Women Writing the West

Blood of the Devil, The Life and Times of Yellow Boy, Mescalero Apache is an important book casting the light of understanding on a people often portrayed as evil. This is a fascinating tale told from an Apache point of view by someone who knows the N'deh. The action never stops. The characters are human with a little different outlook than our own shaped by their environment and outrageous fortune. I grew up among Apaches and Michael's characters feel like old friends. The author catalogues an important era of transition and change.

Doug Hocking
Author of Tom Jeffords: Friend of Cochise and Mystery of Chaco Canyon

Blood of the Devil, is not only the life of Yellow Boy, but the life of his camp and, through them, the life of Mescaleros, enhanced by rich detailing of plants and creatures of mountains and plains. Belief in the Creator permeates each day's every aspect, from birth to burial. Whether showing the tender love of a couple awaiting their first child to a barehanded duel with the giant witch slaver whose owl kills men by pecking out their eyes, W. Michael Farmer is brilliantly convincing. It's hard to wait to read the continuation of this unique saga.

Jeanne Williams
Recently inducted into the Western Writers of America's Hall of Fame
Williams' Southwestern books have won four Spur Awards and the Levi Strauss Saddleman Award, and her novel, The Cave Dreamers, was a New York Times Best Seller.


W. Michael Farmer, Ph.D.

W. Michael Farmer, a member of the Western Writers of America, learned about the rich mosaic of historic figures depicted in his books while living in Las Cruces, New Mexico, for fifteen years. He has a Ph.D. in Physics and has conducted atmospheric research with laser-based instruments he developed. He has published short stories in anthologies , won awards for essays, and published historical essays in magazines and on the Facebook web-page Killer of Witches. His first novel, Hombrecito's War, won a Western Writers of America Spur Award Finalist for Best First Novel in 2006 and was a New Mexico Book Award Finalist for Historical Fiction in 2007. His other novels include: Hombrecito's Search; Tiger, Tiger, Burning Bright: The Betrayals of Pancho Villa; Conspiracy: The Trial of Oliver Lee and James Gililland; Killer of Witches, The Life and Times of Yellow Boy, Mescalero Apache, Book 1, winner of a Will Rogers Medallion Award and Finalist for the New Mexico-Arizona Book Awards in Historical Fiction and Adventure-Drama; Blood of the Devil, The Life and Times of Yellow Boy, Mescalero Apache, Book 2, and Mariana's Knight, The Revenge of Henry Fountain, Legends of the Desert, Book 1.