Killer of Witches

The Life and Times of Yellow Boy, Mescalero Apache - Book One

First book in a trilogy that parallels the history of the Mescalero Apaches between 1865 and 1951.

Killer of Witches is a powerful story; truth told with fiction that transports the reader to a different background, culture, history, time, and religion. It is the other side of Apache history lived by a people fighting the tsunami of Americans migrating west and the terrors of their supernatural insights.

Five hundred Mescalero Apaches at General James H. Carlton’s Bosque Redondo Apache-Navajo concentration camp near Fort Sumner, New Mexico, disappear like ghosts in the wind on a cold November night in1865. The Army never finds the Apaches including a five year-old boy with them, who becomes a legend.

Fans of historical fiction will find this novel hard to put down. Killer of Witches is available wherever books are sold. It is also available in Kindle and Nook formats for e-readers.

Order an author signed copy!


Book 1, Killer of Witches, begins in 1865 when Yellow Boy is five years old and vanishes overnight with over 500 Mescaleros from Bosque Redondo near Fort Sumner, New Mexico in 1865.

Book 2Blood of the Devil, begins in 1880 in the Sierra Madre stronghold of the great Chiricahua chief, Juh, when Yellow Boy and his warrior brother, Beela-chezzi learn how to find the giant bald witch, who has escaped them, Sangre del Diablo (Blood of the Devil). They have sworn to kill and send him blind to the Happy Land for the murder and scalping of their people.

Book 3, The Last Warrior,  continues the powerful story of the Mescalero Apaches fighting for tribal survival against determined ignorance from autocratic government overseers, countering attacks from those misusing their supernatural powers, and choosing sides in White Eye conflicts.


Will Rogers Medallion Award
Fourth Place – October, 2016

New Mexico-Arizona Book Awards Finalist
Historical Fiction – November 2016

New Mexico-Arizona Book Awards Finalist
Adventure – November, 2016

Online Retailers


Book Details

Book Details

ISBN-13: 9781633737464
Publisher: Oghma Creative Media
Publication date: 09/27/2022
Series: Life and Times of Yellow Boy, Mescalero Apache , #1
Edition description: Tiree Press Trade Paperback
Pages: 274
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.62(d)

“It is about time a western writer includes an Apache as the central hero in an expansive story of hard and deadly times. Michael Farmer has created a major character, Yellow Boy, caught between two worlds. He suffers and triumphs as he tries to protect his people. Clever, follower of the ancient ways, yet knowing he has to adjust, Yellow Boy is bold, and pushes the boundaries we all understand when it comes to cultural change. More than well researched, this book is dramatic and heart rending as one follows the men and women of his band deep into the rugged and magnificent landscapes we know from Southern New Mexico to the canyon recesses of the Mexican Sierra Madre. Book 1, Killer of Witches in The Life and Times of Yellow Boy, Mescalero Apache trilogy by Farmer is a keeper.”

—Lynda A. Sánchez,
Author, Historian and Educator.
Coauthor with Eve Ball and Nora Henn of Award Winning, Oral Apache History, Indeh.
Lincoln, New Mexico

Other Books in This Series

Pin It on Pinterest

Scroll to Top